Mercredi 26 décembre 2012 à 23:23

The last episode... we'd been waiting for this for so long... Hoping for the best, fearing to see the story end.
For the 4 first seasons, I was really hoping they would end the show with Arthur becoming the Great King of Albion, the King of the Legends... The first episode of series 5 made me understand they would skip this part and lead us right to the end of the story, when Arthur dies... I know the story, I've always known Arthur died fighting for Camelot... But I also knew Merlin hasn't really followed the legend... So how? how would they end the story?

I was a bit disappointed with season 5 because there was so much to tell, and they didn't, I feel like something is missing between season 4 and season 5, and Merlin has made mistake after mistake leading Arthur to his end...
And Christmas arrived. I hadn't watched episode 12 or 13, enjoying the holidays with my family. I should have known Twitter wasn't the place to be, but I had been careful, muting the Merlin hashtag and few people I know talk about the episodes... Turns out I missed some and as I was about to tweet a photo of my Christmas dinner, I saw that Arthur had died, Morgana had died, Mordred had died, and Gwaine had died. I was totally not ready for this and it ruined everything. So if you haven't seen my tweet on Christmas day, I hate you if you tweeted without using the Merlin hashtag.

That being said, I finally watched the finale. There will be a real review when time comes (when I'll have reviewed the 6 still missing...), but I need to tell how I felt.
I simply loved it.
At first I didn't know what to think of it, because I was expecting a big battle, and a big magic reveal, and Merlin showing his powers to everyone... And I got an entire episode of Merlin and Arthur on their way to Avalon... I think that at first, I wasn't sure I liked it, because I knew Arthur would not survive... But I thought about it, re-watched it, and this finale is the best way they could end the show. Merthur shippers, that was for you, I thought of you so much watching it. I've always seen Merlin and Arthur as best of friends, a brotherhood stronger than the knights bond, and this episode was all about it. The magic reveal was perfect, and Arthur's reaction was perfect. How he felt betrayed and little by little, saw and understood what Merlin had done for him. How he forgot the sorcerer to only see his friend, the friend who had always been at his side no matter what. This episode was only about their friendship and it was truly beautiful. How Arthur finally said "thank you", Merlin's pain when he loses him... And even modern Emrys... I was a bit "WTF" when I saw him, but then... yes, Emrys is waiting for Arthur, because when Arthur rises again, the only person he will need at his side is Merlin, and Merlin's destiny is to be at this side.
I think it's a beautiful message about friendship and loyalty.
Few words about Gwaine. Thanks to Eoin and his tweets, we kind of knew Gwaine would die... I was disappointed by his death. As a great warrior, I think he deserved to die fighting, and it's heartbreaking to see him go thinking he failed his King. Special mention to Percival, who lost his BBF too.

There are things I regret, I wanted more, but I'll keep that for the recap.

The more I think about this finale, the more I think it was perfect, and probably the best episode of the show. They honoured the Legend in a beautiful way. They honoured the character. They made thousands of people remember the hope there is in the Legend.

"Arthur is not just a King. He is the Once and Future King. Take heart. For when Albion’s need is greatest, Arthur will rise again.
It has been a privilege to have known you, young Warlock.
The story that we have been a part of, will live long in the minds of men."

http://walking-on-sunshine.cowblog.fr/images/tumblrmfnh85DyXM1rp6axvo1r2250.gif
 
 

Aucun commentaire n'a encore été ajouté !
 

Ajouter un commentaire









Commentaire :








Votre adresse IP sera enregistrée pour des raisons de sécurité.
 

La discussion continue ailleurs...

Pour faire un rétrolien sur cet article :
http://walking-on-sunshine.cowblog.fr/trackback/3222865

 

<< Page précédente | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Page suivante >>

Créer un podcast